Our Honorary Graduate Community

“I am delighted that this honour should come from my favourite English city, and only a few miles from where I was born in Weston-Super-Mare. The University was founded just as I began my career as a writer, and its psychology department has an outstanding reputation for research and teaching.”

John Cleese, honorary degree of Doctor of Clinical Psychology.

Over the last 50 years, we have expanded and enriched our university community by recognising hundreds of remarkable men and women with an honorary degree. From Sir Ian McKellen to Sir Terry Pratchett and Sir David Attenborough, it’s the highest possible recognition we can provide.

John Cleese is one of our recent honorary graduates, receiving his award at our summer graduations in July. He was in good company, joining an impressive list of new hon grads  – take a look at the names below.

There’ll be plenty more to come. Over our anniversary year we’ll be welcoming around 50 more at a raft of events and ceremonies. Watch this space for news!

Sir Bobby Charlton CBEDoctor of Laws

Dr Randal L NewcombDoctor of Laws

Lord Foster of BathDoctor of Laws

John CleeseDoctor Clinical Psychology

Stephen KellyDoctor of Business Administration

Elizabeth Bingham OBEDoctor of Laws

Kirit Patel MBEDoctor of Business Administration

David MedlockDoctor of Engineering

Dr Fiona Marshall Doctor of Science

Professor Massimo BanziDoctor of Education

Dr Michael PaintingDoctor of Music

Neelie KroesDoctor of Laws

Roger Whorrod OBEDoctor of Engineering

Sue Whorrod Doctor of Health

Professor Uta FrithDoctor of Science

Professor Kevin EdgeDoctor of Engineering

Professor Philip Power FRS – Doctor of Science

Sir Anthony SeldonDoctor of Letters

Professor Michele Aresta – Doctor of Engineering

Professor Scott BarrettDoctor of Laws

Professor Kaushik BasuDoctor of Laws

David Constantine MBEDoctor of Engineering

Baroness Catherine AshtonDoctor of Laws

Jenson Button MBEDoctor of Engineering

Dame Jilian Matheson –  Doctor of Science

Professor David NuttDoctor of Laws

Paul PolmanDoctor of Laws